Springbok Players are nominated for the World Rugby Player of the Year

Springbok teammates Pieter-Steph du Toit and Cheslin Kolbe are up for the big prize at the end of the Rugby World Cup, as they have been identified as two of the game’s outstanding players in 2019.

The pair have been nominated for the World Rugby Player of the Year award. 

Springbok duo in line for top award

Both will be hoping to follow in the footsteps of Bok legend, Bryan Habana, who was the last South African player to hold the prestigious accolade when he did so in 2007.

Utility forward, du Toit is the reigning SA Rugby Player of the Year and stands to add the international award to his collection.

On what has been an outstanding year for the Stormers man, World Rugby wrote;

A linchpin in the South African pack, Du Toit has started eight of the Springboks’ 10 tests in 2019 and been an unused replacement in the RWC 2019 win over Canada. The towering 27-year-old may have flitted between second-row and flanker in the early days of his international career, but he has made the No.7 jersey his own over the last two years and his work-rate and versatility mean he is one of the first names down on Rassie Erasmus’ team sheet.

World Rugby

His compatriot, Kolbe has emerged as one of the most dangerous attackers with ball in hand, and also standing to cap his amazing year in the green and gold with the big prize.

The game’s governing body wrote;

The dancing feet of Kolbe have lit up Rugby World Cup 2019 with the diminutive winger showing that size isn’t everything, his footwork and pace allowing him to turn a defence inside out and leave players clutching at thin air in his wake. The Springbok, who turned 26 earlier this week, has started six tests in 2019 and scored five tries, including two in the pool stage against Italy when he was named Player of the Match. An ankle injury ruled him out of the semi-final with Wales but the Springboks will be delighted he is back for the final.

World Rugby

The two players are nominated alongside England youngster, Tom Curry, Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones, New Zealand flanker Ardie Savea, as well as the USA’s Joe Taufete’e, who is the only nominee from a tier-2 nation in the list.

You can also read – Woojin, Member of Stray Kids Band Left the Group

World Rugby Player of the Year nominees

Pieter-Steph du Toit (South Africa)

Tom Curry (England)

Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)

Cheslin Kolbe (South Africa)

Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

Joe Taufete’e (USA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.